It’s been a while since I last posted – my research has taken all my time. 

In the short break, before my next report is due, I thought to share something I posted on Facebook last week. 

This was taken from part of one of my previous reports, but I had edited it out due to it being more personal opinion than scientifically determined fact. I was prompted to post it due to seeing numerous posts by my Facebook associates that I attempted to comment on, but the posts were deleted before I had the chance. 

Part one – Posted on 9th May 2017

I have been meaning to say something on this topic for a while. To share my opinion and claim nothing more than that. This is merely an observation; an accumulation of some of the information I have read in the last year or so.
It is becoming beyond ridiculous how often people mistake information for knowledge and wealth for wisdom. This needs to stop. It is the nastiest kind of dogma. Mistaken and misplaced.

Having more money in the bank than someone else DOES NOT give you the right to look down your nose at them. The ongoing progression towards more, more, more is destroying this planet.

Consumerism and narcissism go hand in hand. The so called ‘powerful’, by and large, lack knowledge and wisdom. They corrupt information for their own ends and perpetuate ignorance. They do not spread knowledge and wisdom. They subvert it.

How can you recognise the narcissistic consumer? They only keep people around them who agree with their view on the world. Anyone else who has the audacity to disagree with them is quickly confronted – and then removed. They will never admit they are wrong. Instead, they gravitate towards those who confirm they are right. This is not wisdom. This is corruption.

People often discuss the information they are interested in. Nothing wrong with that. However, mistaking information for knowledge and wisdom breeds nothing more than toxic arrogance against any alternative view.

This is the dawn of Post-Truth. We have, for hundreds of years, mistaken wealth, power and knowledge as being part of some sort of triad of success. Society tells us that if you do not achieve this triad then you are a failure. This is wrong.

If you judge someone harmfully because they disagree with you: you are part of the problem.

If you ridicule those with opposing views: you are part of the problem.

If you think that wealth makes you better than everyone else: you are part of the problem.

Knowledge is nothing more than an accumulation of information and observations, combined with PERSONAL PERSPECTIVE! Most people do not realise this therefore only skim surface information.

Wealth is nothing more than the hoarding of commodities, a self-absorbed greed that is nothing more than an unrecognised illness. Emotional and psychological integrity is a currency that knows no bounds. It cannot be measured by the price of your shoes.

Power perpetuates this toxic cycle of antiknowledge and antiwisdom. It has created this mass distraction of wealth to suppress common decency. The most tragic aspect of this is that good people suffer the most because of this.

Wisdom is not appearing intelligent by sharing information and providing your opinion on it. Wisdom is knowing, deep in your heart, what is right and wrong; WITHOUT making a moral judgement on anyone else OTHER THAN YOURSELF. It is taking the responsibility for your own actions and choices; WITHOUT comparing them to everyone else.

We all have a choice as to how we live our lives; whether you believe God gave us Free Will, or that we inherently have Natural Freedom. The greatest threat humanity ever faced is the damage that wealth is inflicting on this society; the judgment that the narcissistic consumer places upon anyone who is not cloning their lifestyle.

Judge me as you will for my opinion. I know myself that my opinion will evolve depending on what information I am provided with. I have encouraged that since I was a child. I invite opposing perspectives so that I can enhance my own. Society does not determine my self-worth.

A few days later, (11th May 2017) I posted a follow up: 

As a follow up to my previous status on The Narcissistic Consumer:

How to spot one on your News Feed, and why you should refrain from removing them.

1. A person who is proud of their achievements is not necessarily a Narcissistic Consumer. It is when pride manifests into bragging with the intention of undermining others that it becomes more akin to a mental illness:

“Narcissists are characterised by exhibitionism and vanity, and they see themselves as superior and entitled. To validate their grandiose self-image, narcissists purchase high-prestige products (i.e., luxurious, exclusive, flashy), show greater interest in the symbolic than the utilitarian value of products, and distinguish themselves positively from others via their materialistic possessions” (Cisek et.al, 2014). Consider the difference between Donald Trump and Jeremy Corbyn.

2. Speaking of mental illness, a Narcissistic Consumer will seek to validate their way of life by judging anyone who does not look, speak and act like them as suffering from a mental illness.

This not only displays ignorance of their own issues with mental instability but perpetuates the stigma and stereotype that genuine people must endure. Not only does the Narcissistic Consumer fail to empathise with others who are not like them, they actively pursue only like-minded people. They remove opposition and ensure that no one can comment on anything they disagree with. They are never open to correction. Image is everything to them, therefore, their media image is carefully crafted and pruned of dissent.

3. The current President of the United States of America may be the most famous Narcissistic Consumer, but make no mistake: we all know at least one.

If you remove a Narcissistic Consumer from your social media, essentially you are helping them indulge in their twisted fantasy whereby the world is exactly as they make it. If you post a status and deliberately set it so they cannot see it: you are displaying the exact behaviour that makes them a Narcissistic Consumer.

4. Do not fall prey to their antiknowledge and antiwisdom rhetoric.

This is an important one. The Narcissistic Consumer presents an image that appears intelligent on the surface. Indeed, many are quite successful in their material lives but make no mistake: it is all fake. It is no coincidence that the most powerful are the original Narcissistic Consumers. They have been the dominant rule for thousands of years. It is their message that the local Narcissistic Consumer clones without even realising it. The average Narcissistic Consumer falls prey to the depowering of humanity: The trap that keeps us all consuming.

The easiest way to spot a Narcissistic Consumer: you can see the manipulation in their smile and the mania in their eyes.

As to how we can help them – that is beyond this status. But once we figure it out, we may be able to save this planet.

Source: Cisek, S., Sedikides, C., Hart, C., Godwin, H., Benson, V. and Liversedge, S. (2014). Narcissism and consumer behaviour: a review and preliminary findings. Frontiers in Psychology, [online] 5. Available at: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3968766/.

Nothing divides society more than politics. Once again the UK is going through another General Election where the options are austerity or the unknown. It is difficult to refrain from commenting on any post that I have an interest in, but when it comes to events that affect wider society, I must find an outlet for my thoughts lest they consume me. 

I am a consumer, but not a narcissistic one. I consume YA fiction and Graphic Novels because that is what makes me happy. Sure, I talk about it a LOT too, but I never intend to make someone feel inadequate because of their lack of material wealth. I do not equate happiness with the size of my bank account, although it does help my mood to see my balance increase. I have known abject poverty and continue to fight every single day to keep my head above the surface.

Being a good person is not about how lovely you look –  it is about how lovely you act.

Sometimes the poor are the kindest and the wealthy are the most hollow.   

As I said at the beginning of the post: this is just an observation. 

Leave a Reply

